Home > Journalists in the news > Vancouver Courier sportswriter wins spot on Lingerie Football League team

Vancouver Courier sportswriter wins spot on Lingerie Football League team

May 9, 2012

So, this happened:

Vancouver Courier sports reporter Megan Stewart won a spot on the Lingerie Football League’s B.C. entry, the B.C. Angels, after taking part in a tryout last month.

See the column (w/ not-so-revealing photo) here.

Megan explains that while she’s won a spot (trying out in a hoodie and tight-fitting pants), she was still not 100 per cent sure that she’d suit up in the team’s Aug. 25 opener in Abbotsford.

I don’t know if I’ll stay and play; the lacy uniforms include a garter belt.

Playing tackle football-a pursuit that isn’t widely available to girls or women-is exhilarating. I’m learning just how complex, fast and incredibly fun a game it is. And I’m already loyal to my Angel teammates and their ambitions to play pro-am sports.

But she seems to be coming around to the idea. On Wednesday she tweeted: “Great first session this morning with my rad personal trainer @fit_for_sport. I will be ready to wear a garter belt on the gridiron. #LFL

We’ll be watching (not like that, you pervs!) to see how this thing develops. As Megan notes, a Toronto team folded last year citing mismanagement and safety concerns.

