Home > Uncategorized > 2012 Ma Murray Awards highlights/winners

2012 Ma Murray Awards highlights/winners

April 18, 2012

The 2012 Ma Murray Awards were handed out by the British Columbia/Yukon Newspaper Association.

Our (drunk) special correspondent was there and reports the following:

For the second year in a row, Surrey Leader/Black Press reporter Jeff Nagel had the best speech. Jeff, who won for Investigative Journalism, told the crowd said he shared his award with his fellow nominees, Steve Arstad of the Keremeos Review and Aaron Orlando of the Revelstoke Times-Review. Jeff cited the Leader’s large newsroom as being key to his ability to write his award-winning series and contrasted that with the limited resources and backup available to Steve and Aaron. Jeff also got off the line of the night, noting that Black Press (his employer!) is fine with one-person newsrooms and that, if you’re fine with that, they’ll give you a second paper. Steve later wrote a column about it, which you can read here.

The wine was good.

So was co-host Dan Quinn’s comedy set after dinner and his and Jill Krop’s banter during the awards presentations.

He also reports that he put a check mark beside Vancouver Courier photographer Dan Toulgoet‘s name on his program. This had to do with his very good speech, our correspondent reports. Alas, that’s all he remembers. Sorry, ’bout that.

Oh, and here are your newspaper excellence standings. I’ll post the other awards sometime soon.

Newspaper Excellence Category A

Gold – Bowen Island Undercurrent

Silver – North Thompson Times

Bronze – Bridge River-Lillooet News

4. Lake Cowichan Gazette

5. North Thompson Star Journal

6. Caledonia Courier

7. Eagle Valley News

8. Omineca Express

9. The Northern Sentinel

Newspaper Excellence Category B

Gold – Fernie Free Press

Silver – North Island Gazette

Bronze – Hope Standard

4. Grand Forks Gazette

5. Ladysmith-Chemainus Chronicle

6. Summerland Review

7. Agassiz-Harrison Observer

8. Lake Country Calendar

Newspaper Excellence Category C

Gold – Squamish Chief

Silver – Gulf Islands Driftwood

Bronze – Salmon Arm Observer

4. Powell River Peak

5. Alberni Valley News

6. Merritt Herald

7. Sooke News Mirror

8. Williams Lake Tribune

9. 100 Mile House Free Press

10. Creston Valley Advance

11. Williams Lake, Cariboo Advisor

12. The Interior News

13. Aldergrove Star

Newspaper Excellence Category D

Gold – Coast Reporter

Silver – Whistler Question

Bronze – Oak Bay News

4. Yukon News

5. South Delta Leader

6. Mission City Record

7. Nelson Star

8. Alaska Highway Daily News

9. Quesnel Cariboo Observer

10. Oceanside Star

11. Monday Magazine

12. Dawson Creek Daily News

13. Cloverdale Reporter

14. Lakeshore News

Newspaper Excellence Category E

Gold – Cowichan News Leader Pictorial

Silver – Parksville/Qualicum Beach News

Bronze – New Westminster Record

4. Comox Valley Record

5. Delta Optimist

6. Goldstream News Gazette

7. New Westminster NewsLeader

8. Penticton Western News

9. North Shore Outlook

10. Peninsula News Review

11. Campbell River Mirror

12. Harbour City Star

13. Alberni Valley Times

14. Campbell River Courier-Islander

Newspaper Excellence Category F

Gold – Peace Arch News

Silver – Langley Advance

Bronze – Victoria News

4. Kamloops This Week

5. Saanich News

6. Chilliwack Progress

7. Maple Ridge Pitt Meadows News

8. Langley Times

9. Cowichan Valley Citizen

10. Maple Ridge Pitt Meadows Times

11. Chilliwack Times

12. Abbotsford Times

13. Nanaimo Daily News

14. Prince George Free Press

15. Vancouver Courier

16. WE Vancouver

Newspaper Excellence Category G

Gold – Abbotsford News

Silver – Surrey/North Delta Leader

Bronze – Kelowna Capital News

4. Vernon Morning Star

5. North Shore News

6. Burnaby Now

7. Tri-City News

8. Coquitlam Now

9. Prince George Citizen

10. Nanimo News Bulletin

11. Kamloops Daily News

12. Burnaby NewsLeader

13. Surrey Now

Do you have more to add? Leave a comment.



Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Fiona Hughes
    April 19, 2012 at 11:54 am

    Great stuff. Courier photographer’s name is Dan Toulgoet, though!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
%d bloggers like this: