Home > Ethics > Alberta plagiarist resigns editor post

Alberta plagiarist resigns editor post

March 28, 2012

Steve Jeffrey, the publisher/owner of Chestermere, Alta.’s The Anchor Weekly has mercifully resigned as the paper’s editor after being fingered as a serial plagiarist, according to the Calgary Herald.

For some background, check out my previous two stories or visit the blog of American humourist George Waters, who first exposed Jeffrey.

Jeffrey told the Herald via email: “I really don’t have any way to defend myself. I did use articles for inspiration, but thought that I had changed the content enough to comply.”

I had previously excoriated Jeffrey, but reading that quote in the Herald, I found a twinge of sympathy for the guy. If he did think he had changed the content enough to comply, clearly he was just a guy who had absolutely no fucking clue what he was doing. If that’s the case, well, I can’t be sorry that he’s no longer editing the paper, but at least one can rest assured that he didn’t know he was stealing the work of other writers. Of course, it might just be a convenient excuse. But his previous ham-handed denials hint at a guy who didn’t know squat about plagiarism (although he certainly knew how to plagiarize).

The Alberta Press Council is also investigating.

 

  1. Anonymous
    April 5, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    Is Steve the owner/publisher/editor? It says here he resigned as owner, but I assume that should read ‘editor’. If so, the silver lining is that there is, theoretically, one more job up for grabs in this crazy business . . .

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
