Home > Blogs > So it goes

So it goes

May 28, 2011

This blog, I think, is dying. Mostly it’s dying from the sun; it’s much easier to write on this blog when it’s dark by the time I get home from work. The Canucks are also partly responsible. But Postmedia also deserves a good share of the blame.

When I started it, I had the very, very vague notion that somehow I could influence my company’s bigwigs to start giving a damn about their community newspapers. I wasn’t optimistic, but I could dream. I’ve pretty much given up on that now.

Postmedia has some great community papers and employs many great journalists. Unfortunately, none of those people are in a position, or given the opportunity, to do much. Instead, it’s pretty clear that the whole operation lacks any sort of guiding hand and has no real purpose, except to not lose money while flooding the internet with “content.”

So fuck it. My only hope is that eventually Postmedia will give its community newspapers to someone who gives a damn and has a clue.

As for this blog, I’m going to keep it stringing along. The main problem is that I find stuff to write about by reading other papers, but I’ve had less time — and, frankly, less desire — to do so in recent months. I hoped when I started the blog to get some help in that regard, but that hasn’t happened so…yeah.

Eventually, I think I’m going to turn this into a Facebook group or page that can survive on its own as more of a meeting place, rather than as the current me-to-you direct feed of information that this blog currently is.

Categories: Blogs
  1. May 28, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    That sucks to hear you’ll be phasing out of running the blog. I hit the blog several times a day to make sure I catch any updates.

    A few months ago I sent you an e-mail offering to assist in browsing community news sites but I’m reasonably sure it got lost somewhere. I blame myself, gmail is a new thing to me still.

    Either way, wishing you the best in whatever you do from here. I’m sure I’m not alone in thinking that even if you didn’t achieve your initial goal of influencing your company’s bigwigs, you were certainly influential to others, myself included.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
