Home > Comings and goings > Bertrand named Trail Daily Times editor

Bertrand named Trail Daily Times editor

April 18, 2011

Guy Bertrand is no longer the Trail Daily Times sports editor. Now he’s just the editor (read the story here). Guy, who has edited the paper’s sports section for 22 years, is replacing Tracy Gilchrist, who is moving on to the Kamloops Daily News, where she’ll be the city editor. Tracy spent 16 years with the Times.  In her farewell column, she explains her departure:

I’ve taken the position of city editor with the Kamloops Daily News, where I’ll have a larger news team plus a seasoned journalist as my direct boss. It’s going to be an exciting new challenge but it’s bittersweet to be leaving our home and community, as well as coworkers I have spent more time with than my spouse.

more…

Tracy’s arrival in Kamloops means Daily News editor Mel Rothenburger has finally found a replacement for Susan Duncan, who left the paper in February to work as, horror of horrors, a PR person for Interior Health. Her farewell column can still be read here.

And one more departure:

Arrow Lakes News reporter Keith Powell has bid B.C. goodbye and is heading back to Ontario. His farewell column can be read here.

Have I missed somebody? Email me or leave a comment. Otherwise, I probably won’t mention it here.

