Home > Blogs > B.C. Reporter declares war on its competitors

B.C. Reporter declares war on its competitors

March 6, 2011

In the space of two freaking days, this blog suddenly gained two competitors. Thus, I hereby announce my desire to destroy them both.

Or not.

Seriously, it’s great to see Kamloops Daily News associate editor Catherine Litt and another mysterious (that’s my thing!) blogger start writing on the interwebs this weekend.

Catherine uses Tumblr for her “B.C. Newspapers Blog.” Here’s an intro of sorts to her blog:

While I do believe the end is nigh for traditional newsprint products, you won’t find me bemoaning that point. Instead, I’ll focus on the opportunities (and there are many) that await those of us willing to embrace change.

The “Northern Reporter,” meanwhile, uses Blogger for his/her aptly named “The Northern Reporter.” Here’s the last sentence of his/her description:

This isn’t a journalism blog, exactly. I’d call it a personal blog about journalism. I’m here to share my pain of learning the ropes in a newsroom, because I’ve discovered that as far as pain goes, this job has a fair bit of it.

more…

I’m pumped to have company, and hopefully Catherine and NR can keep up the excellent output.

Each has already provided a pretty good laugh. Catherine on interactive newsprint, and the NR on a Rossland story that deserves a bee-plus for punnery.

  1. March 6, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    Dear Mysterious.

    I’ve heard the early adopters are the ones who last, just because people are used to going there.

    That said, I’ve added both blogs you referenced to my bookmarks. You’ll always be number one in my book(mark)s.

    • March 6, 2011 at 5:50 pm

      Ah yes, if you bet on one thing, bet on the laziness of the human race.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
