Home > Roundup > Wolves, love, and murderball

Wolves, love, and murderball

February 14, 2011

Photo (!) by Robert Dewar via Flickr

Teresa Bird (I assume, by the cutline) of the North Island Gazette reports on a guy who fought off a wolf attacking his dog and who was then surrounded and chased by a whole pack of wolves. The story is intense.

He found his dog with a huge wolf at his neck. Passmore started yelling at the wolf he estimated to be 150 pounds.

“He didn’t even look at me, didn’t know I was there,” said Passmore who was above the wolf on the log jam. Thinking his dog was dead, Passmore took a quick photo of the wolf with his cell phone. Then he saw Huey’s chest heave.

“I knew then he was alive, so then I just launched myself onto the wolf’s back,” said Passmore.

“The wolf went one way and I landed on my back,” said Passmore. “Suddenly five more heads showed up in a half circle around us. It all happened in a millisecond. The lead dog ran and the rest followed.”

more…

(One commenter asked, “where is THAT photo?”) The guy and both dogs escaped and conservation officers have issued a warning for the area.  (Wild area up there: in the same paper is the headline “Cougar kills livestock in Hyde Creek.)

****

Two good Valentine’s stories: Saanich News reporter Natalie North pens a nice, timely feature on a couple who met online a decade ago, when internet dating was just catching on; and Christine van Reeuwyk of the Peninsula News Review writes about a widow and widower who got together in their 70s.

Ken Hutchin counts himself lucky to have a good-lookin’ girl.

“I’m twice blessed,” he says, eyes crinkling as he slips a sidelong glance at his bride of 10 years.

Jean Jackson wasn’t looking for love.

“It was friendship that developed,” she explained. “Something just grew, there was no big flash. I’d been on my own for 15 years and I wasn’t looking for a partner.”

Judging by the way they readily smooch like unchaperoned teenagers for a photograph, the love is strong.

more…

That’s some groovy writing.

****

There’s a nice little narrative by Alistair Taylor in the Campbell River Mirror about the release into the wild of a rehabbed injured hawk. Nothing big, but a nice, clean, simple story told in a unique way.

****

Ferret filched in Comox.

****

Interesting letter to the editor also in the Comox Valley Echo. Ann Foster writes to say: “Occasionally letters from an ‘A. Foster’ appear in your letter section. Please let it be known that this person is not me.” Funny. You never think about the people who have the same names as the crazy letter-writers and who must spend uncommon amounts of time telling friends ‘No, I don’t think Stephen Harper is a Joseph Stalin reincarnation with the sole aim of putting local lettuce growers out of business.'”

****

Sorry, but I just don’t get what this Comox Valley Record story is about:

The lede:

A successful marketer with international connections who could have lived anywhere in Canada chose the Comox Valley.

more…

It’s a business story, I think, but one that’s more an advertorial for a single person, which seems weird. Sorry, but I just don’t get it.

****

Erin DeCoste of the Ladysmith Chronicle tries out murderball, otherwise known as wheelchair rugby. She survives.

****

A general rule of journalism is not to lead with a question. You can break it, but rarely. I certainly shouldn’t come across multiple question leads in the space of half-an-hour of story surfing. (On the other hand, questions are great for online headlines).

****

Finally, the following screen grab, in the Victoria News, makes the headline “Officer in YouTube kicking video won’t be charged: Crown counsel” all the more powerful.

My take? I can see how kicking could be needed in some circumstances. But perhaps police departments should outlaw it just because it looks really freakin’ bad when an officer kicks someone who’s on the ground.

