Home > Uncategorized > Calling all journalism students

Calling all journalism students

February 7, 2011

Because you can’t see comments on the main page (you have to click on the post’s title), sometimes they can fly under the radar. For that reason I’m going to repost a comment here by Nelson Star reporter Andrea Klassen, who suggests that some ambitious journalism student should take note and write a kick-ass paper on the whole Nelson Star/Express/Daily News hubbub that has taken place in the last year. She commented:

Since the NDN closed last summer, I’ve thought Nelson would be a great study for some intrepid journalism student doing their honours review. With the Express gone and a couple new print things percolating around town in addition to the online sites, it seems like a better and better idea all the time—especially since I don’t think there’s a local journalist with enough distance on the issue to ever get at the full story, myself most definitely included.

I couldn’t agree more.

  1. February 8, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    I’m with my colleague Andrea.

    Seven years ago, when I first drove through Nelson, I was impressed this town had two newspapers. Now look at us. One paper, two news sites, and there’s at least one, possibly three, newspapers/letters/publications in the works.

    The media are like weeds in this town. How appropriate, given our reputation.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
