Home > Comments > Open thread: the blogger’s copout

Open thread: the blogger’s copout

December 23, 2010

So the holiday season has pretty much started and Christmas is here and, maybe by the time you read this, gone.

I doubt that I’ll have much time to post so I’m opening the phone lines up.

Your topic, if you choose to accept it, is to ruminate on podcasts… Are they a good idea? Would they have an audience? Would you have time to do one? Do you listen to any? Are you afraid of a microphone? What are they good for? Pro/con?

Leave a comment.

Go to comments.

******************

Help keep this blog running for weeks to come by becoming a link farmer. It’s easy, quick and the pay is shite. E-mail bclocalreporter@gmail.com. Also, take the poll on the right. It’s free. Lucky you.

Have I made an error? It wouldn’t be the first time. Leave a comment and I’ll duly update the post.

We’re making inroads into our census of B.C. community newspapers, but there are still a lot of blanks in the Journo-lust Spreadsheet. How many journalists work at your paper? How often do you come out? Who’s your publisher? Participation is free! The benefits unlimited! The exclamation points boundless!

Photo by Gregg O’Connell via Flickr.
Categories: Comments Tags: ,
  1. December 27, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    I haven’t given much thought to podcasts. I’m content to take advantage of what the Internet can offer in terms of lots of photos, all colour, short videos (like moving pictures!) and that’s it.

    I don’t see the advantage of adding a voice to the website.

  2. rb213
    December 24, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Podcasts are a great idea, but not for news. I find time to listen to multiple podcasts, some monthly, some weekly and one daily. But I don’t think the format is a good vehicle to deliver news.

    Podcasts I enjoy: Too Beautiful to Live, Sklarbro Country and Radiolab.

    I could never do a podcast, but I’m glad they exist and I think they are going to be a viable media for a while. Too Beautiful to Live, for instance, is a daily podcast (Monday to Friday, one hour a day roughly), and they’ve just started selling ads. The current show sponsor is Bing, which is pretty impressive.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
